Saturday, August 30, 2014

Book Review: SLAPSHOT OF LOVE by Gary Pearson

Length: 356 Pages
Genre: Satirical Romantic Comedy
Amazon Link

About The Book:
Slapshot of Love by Gary Pearson is a satirical romantic comedy in the tradition of Nick Hornby’s High Fidelity and Helen Fielding’s Bridget Jones’s Diary. Geri Halton is a young woman with an all too real life, working in an seniors’ residence in an industrial town, who finds herself thrown into the glamorous, but artificial world of a reality TV dating show called Slapshot of Love. Smart, funny, attractive, but not ‘model pretty’ or remotely glam, Geri must navigate the phony world of television and determine if her relationship with Ryan, the handsome hockey playing star of the show, is real, or contrived for the TV audience. The hilarious circumstances at both a seniors’ residence and the set of a reality TV show propel the characters through a comic story that also has a lot of heart.

Lynda's Review:

~ "I guess we'll cut it there." Josh said, but Tremblay was having none of it.
"Keep rolling. I want to keep talking to this one. She's pissing me off."
"Geri laughed and stood up. " I've had enough, I can go. This guy doesn't like me." Ryan looked perplexed. He was angry but this seemed unfinished. ~Page 136

Any story that's set in the middle of a reality dating show should promise both drama and humor. Slapshot of Love by Gary Pearson delivers both. While our heroine, Geri, discovers the unreality and bogus truths of the television-world, she also finds an unusual environment in which she can actually discover realities about herself and test the validity of her own hopes and moral foundation. 


Follow Me on Pinterest

No comments:

Post a Comment